Mini Grants

Grants Available

It is that time of year again.  The Northwest Indiana Literacy Coalition (NWILC) is once again offering six $200  honorary mini-grants that will provide seed money to enhance, improve, or develop programs or projects that advance literacy for residents of Jasper, Knox, Lake, La Porte, Newton, Porter, Pulaski or Starke County, no matter their age.

The Ken Woodruff Honorary Mini-Grant will fund Pre-K—Grade 12 initiatives and the Sharon Ball Honorary Mini-Grant will support initiatives serving adult (ages 18 years or older).

These mini-grants are intended to be a simple way to support literacy initiatives that fill specific needs and produce specific outcomes within a one-year timeframe.

Any person or group working in education or a non-profit organization may apply given that the following specifications are met:


  • Initiative must benefit residents in designated NWI Counties.
  • Initiative must foster literacy development, address a specific need, and have specific literacy outcomes.
  • Initiative must begin and end in one calendar year.
  • Application must be completed in full and received no later than December 2, 2019.
  • If submitted electronically, the file must be one of the following extension formats: .docx, .doc, .odt, .txt, or .pdf.
  • Winning applicant must accept delivery of award in person at site of literacy program or project and have a photo of acceptance taken.
  • Winning applicant must provide NWILC Grant committee proof of expenditures.
  • Winning applicant must acknowledge this grant in any communication about project.

If you wish to apply but have extenuating circumstances which may disqualify your project/program, email in advance demonstrating these circumstances prior to your submission of proposal.

Applications must be received by NWILC no later than December 2, 2019.

Download the guidelines.

Mini Grant Applications 2017

Ken Woodruff Mini Grant

Application: Download

Sharon Ball Mini Grant

Application: Download

Mini Grant Winners 2017

Ken Woodruff mini Grants

$200 Awards:

*Marjorie Potter George Earle School – TheEarly Learning Center, Hobart, IN

*Amber Zdankiewicz of Westville Elementary School – Title 1 Program, Westville, IN

*Shannon Chavis of Joy ElementarySchool – Michigan City, IN

*Lynne Clinkert of Michigan City High School – Freshman Academy, Michigan City, IN
Sharon Ball Mini Grants

$200 Award:

*Friends of the Crown Point Adult Learning Center


The Valparaiso Adult Learning Center benefited greatly from the

Northwest Indiana Literacy Coalition’s grant opportunity. Two of the

teachers, Sana Mirza and Amy Berube, will be able to broaden the scope

of the reading materials available in their classes. These English As a

Second Language classes have a diverse group of learners from a

plethora of countries throughout the world.


Language instruction is an essential part of assimilating into a new

country. Financial literacy is also an important part of adjusting to a

new culture. Sana and Amy are vital because they teach the most

relevant skills. Here we observe the discussion of ordering and paying

for a meal at a restaurant.


The child care instructors, Carmen Bustos and Ruth Hart, were thrilled

to receive a mini grant from the literacy coalition. NEO recognizes the

importance of lifelong literacy working with both the preschool children

and their parents in the adult education program.


Carmen and Ruth wanted to wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving

because they were very thankful to receive this grant.


Marilyn Bernal, teacher of the After School program, shares with her

excited students the news that she will be able to purchase additional

STEM materials for their use at the library.


The After School program is held at the Francesville-Salem Township

Public Library, which celebrated its 100 th anniversary this year. It was

originally a Carnegie Library.


Mini Grant $200.00 winner Sharon Santiago from John Simatovich Elem School in Valporaiso.


Rebecca Gouwens at Timothy Ball Elementary in Crown Point.